Welcome to the Sandbox

I set this blog up some time ago but didn’t use it much and then only for private posts. That is changing. You see, for me, 2012 is about looking close at something that have I tried to avoid in the past. This is the year I am finally going to get to know myself as me rather than as some role that I enact or status that I occupy. In July of 2011, I made the choice to leave behind the thing which had defined me for the last 20 years (i.e., becoming and being a university professor and administrator). This has given me the freedom and space to discover who I might be other than Dr. K and it has given me a chance to find my voice.

I am also finding the confidence to take a closer look. In the past, I  have been afraid to look too close for fear of what I might find. It is time for that to change. I know myself well enough to know that I need some structure to this process and I would like some company in my journey. Therefore, I am taking part in various journeys listed over on the side bar. This blog will be a sandbox where I can share discoveries and milestones along the way.  If you like your blogs all neat and tidy and focused on a single topic, this space may not be your cup of tea. If you open to mirabilia mixed with an occasional photo or recipe, a book review from time to time, explorations of teaching and becoming an entrepreneur, and some general navel gazing  you might like it here.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jillsalahub
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 19:27:13

    I’m doing A Year With Myself too, as well as Jamie’s Wishcasting, and I’m an academic, although still trapped as such. May your path be kind with beautiful views.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Views from My World

Some of my favorite books

