It is wishcasting Wednesday over at Jamie Ridler Studio

This week Jamie asked the question that

What do you wish that people knew about you?

I wish that people could know how much I struggle with feeling like a failure and how often I still hear my father’s voice telling me that I am unwanted and unworthy.  I wish they knew how far I had come from where I started and that they realized what that journey had cost me.

I wish they knew how the spirit in my body is so much more than a middle-aged fat woman who walks with a limp. I wish that people knew that even though I am not young, nor thin, nor beautiful, inside my spirit dances and scales great mountains. I wish they knew that wisdom, intelligence, motivation, and goodness could be found in all bodies.

I wish they knew that I am so much more than I appear to be — both in terms of light and shadows.

So what do you wish people knew about you?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Camilla
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 18:48:13

    Awwww…I still feel my father’s disapproval, too. Let it go, lovely. You deserve better.
    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

    Reply

  2. Julie Jordan Scott (@juliejordanscot)
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 18:53:59

    I feel as if you are writing on my behalf in this one. Heartfelt and knowing, we kindreds…. so grateful I came upon your post today so that we may wish together.

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also…

    Reply

  3. April Cole
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 18:55:04

    Thank you for opening your heart.
    None of us fail, we gain experience :]
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

    Reply

  4. Cindi
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 19:24:24

    I don’t know you, but now I do. And I’m glad for it. As you wish for yourself, so I also wish for you.

    Reply

    • Shirley
      Feb 01, 2012 @ 22:00:20

      Thank you Cindi.

      Reply

      • Cindi
        Feb 01, 2012 @ 23:03:13

        ;} no worries on giving me a y instead of an i. I’ve been called worse. My “call sign” when I worked at an Air Force base was CyCo – an abbreviated and fast signature of my name at the time so “Psycho” I was. At a different squadron, and after a retinal tear that left me with limited vision in one eye and frequent wearing of an eye patch, my call sign changed to CiClops. My 2nd ex (my abuser for 12 years) called me an Amazon B!tch after I left him… a title that I still wear with pride at times because I am… Beautiful Intelligent and in Total Control of my/Herself

  5. jillsalahub
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 19:30:35

    I have a similar father story, and just read this quote last week: The way a person treats you has way more to do with how they see themself than how they see you. And yet, when they are someone we think should love us, we still try so hard to figure out how to make that happen! As you wish for yourself, I wish also!

    Reply

    • Shirley
      Feb 01, 2012 @ 21:59:54

      Thank you. I do know that my father’s words and actions were more about him but sometimes I still feel the ghosts and wonder if he might have been right. I appreciate you stopping by and sharing my wish.

      Reply

  6. Stephanie (@dancingwaves)
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 21:31:17

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you.

    So much of this resonated with me. Keep leaping mountains. That side of you shines forth in these words.

    Stephanie

    Reply

    • Shirley
      Feb 01, 2012 @ 21:56:39

      Stephanie, I could figure out how to comment over at your blog but I read your post and as you wish for yourself I also wish for you. Thank you for stopping by and commenting on my post.

      Reply

  7. Gin
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 11:26:43

    Those words from family and loved ones can have a really long-lasting impact. I’m so sorry your father said those things to you. Thank you for posting on my blog – what a great week for it to be our first time to participate in Wishcasting Wednesday. 🙂 As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you too.

    Reply

  8. Elle
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 13:08:00

    As Shirley wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    *hugs* You are loved and worthy. xoxo

    Reply

  9. Paula - Buenos Aires
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 03:49:19

    {a hug for your younger self who got hurt} I see your beauty.
    As Shirley wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. And welcome to the circle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Views from My World

Some of my favorite books

