Wishcasting Wednesday: What do you wish for your home?

It is Wishcasting Wednesday at Jamie Ridler Studios. Today Jamie asks a question that is very timely for me. She asks “What do you wish for your home?” This feels especially timely given that: (1) I am sifting, sorting, packing things in preparation for an unknown type of move to an unknown location with several continents being possible landing places. The next place I hang my hat, may be a short-term location or not.  I am spending a good deal of time and energy trying to figure out what is important to me and what I want to release rather than move to a future version of my home/pay to store. (2) I received an email from my landlord saying that the realtor who has the contract for the building where I live wanted to show my apartment this morning. Given that the email arrived after 10 pm, I have to be at work at 8 am and the showing is at 11 am it left me feeling rather invaded. Strangers in my space bother me a great deal and I feel an odd obligation to make my place as showable as possible.  I gave up sleep to try and make things less messy. The space is small and with the packing, sorting process it seemed very chaotic.

Here are a few things I wish for my home?

  • Places to organize and store the tools and equipment for the things I enjoy.
  • A designated sacred space for meditation and ritual.
  • A place that I can make my own – after a life of renting, I am sick of white walls.
  • A place that allows me to connect with nature – at a minimum a deck for container gardening and a place to have a bird feeder.
  • A place that I can share with friends and guests.
  • Comfortable and functional spaces for doing the things I enjoy. I am rather tired of my best work space being sitting on my bed.
  • A place that is accessible to friends with mobility issues.
  • A place where I feel settled even if I am only settled for a short time.

My ideal home is a web of locations. It is a home based where I live communally with like-minded folks. Preferably that would be in the Madison area. From that location I would spend part of my time working short-term contracts overseas, a few weeks a year each in Orlando and Oklahoma in a home that has wheels.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy
    May 09, 2012 @ 12:23:22

    Sounds like this wish came at the right time.

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

    Reply

  2. Amy
    May 09, 2012 @ 12:47:59

    As you wish soI wish for you!

    Reply

  3. Elle
    May 09, 2012 @ 14:13:00

    As Shirley wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    I’d feel invaded too with strangers coming into my home to look around. Wishing you all the best for landing in the space of your dreams.

    Reply

  4. Dominee (@SpiritBlessing)
    May 09, 2012 @ 15:05:25

    Can totally identify with this! I am wishing you a smooth journey in your move.
    As you wish for yourself so I wish for you as well!

    Reply

  5. Tracy Makara (@Tracy_Makara)
    May 09, 2012 @ 16:01:34

    Seems as though there are several of us in the transitional stage right now. Jamie’s timing is so perfect! As you wish for yourself Shirley, I wish for you also.

    Reply

  6. Cindi
    May 09, 2012 @ 16:59:31

    A wonderful wish. I had in-laws once that did that and they loved it. Summers in Wyoming waking up to the view of the Grand Tetons. Winters in Corpsi Christi fishing on the beach… As you wish for yourself, so I also wish for you.

    Reply

  7. maredarlin
    May 09, 2012 @ 20:08:44

    Lovely! As you wish for yourself, so I truly wish for you also.

    Reply

  8. jillsalahub
    May 09, 2012 @ 21:16:39

    What a clear, wonder-full list. As you wish for yourself, so I also wish for you.

    Reply

  9. tiatuenge
    May 10, 2012 @ 00:23:26

    I love that you know what you want. Clarity is such a beautiful thing.
    As you wish for yourself, I too wish for you.

    Reply

  10. finding1sself
    May 10, 2012 @ 18:56:32

    As you wish in your minds eye I too wish with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Views from My World

Some of my favorite books

