Wishcasting Wednesday

It is Wishcasting Wednesday at Jamie Ridler Studios. Today Jamie is asking:

What peace do you wish for?

My answer came easily and immediately today. The peace I wish for is peace with and within my body.  This is true both in an immediate and long-term sense.

I spent 2.5 weeks working Hurricane Sandy relief operations in New York and came home as a result of a respiratory infection. We were working 12-14 hour days, 6 days a week on top of the bug left me exhausted. Since arriving home on Sunday the coughing has been so constant that sleep is pretty much impossible for more than a few minutes at a time. I wish for the peace of easy breathing and deep sleep.

In a larger sense, I also wish for peace with and within my body. I have always been fat but it didn’t keep me from dancing, hiking, hard physical labor, etc. nor did it shape my definition of self until I injured my knee. Now I walk with a limp and I see myself in increasingly negative ways.  The number on the scale and the speed/grace with which I move have overshadowed the good things about who I am and the other numbers that are a part of who I am (my IQ, my years of education, the number of hours that I offer in volunteer service each year, the skills an experiences that I have, my commitment to a more just/inclusive/sustainable/compassionate world). I wish for the peace that would come from shifting my relationship with my physical being back to something more positive – back to a relationship where I work with what is to be healthier and happier rather than treating my physical being as the enemy. I wish for a peace within my skin that would stem the erosion of my confidence.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 17:37:53

    It all starts with us. I hope your coughing eases. As Shirley wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    Reply

  2. Victoria
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 17:51:41

    Hope you feel better soon! As Shirley wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 17:57:27

    Some days or for some reason it’s hard to always feel good within our own bodies so if you figure it out Shirley I hope you’ll let us all in on that particular secret! 🙂

    As you wish for yourself I also wish for you.

    Reply

  4. Aktuella bilder
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 18:03:45

    It is as if you have read my mind. Nice post.

    Reply

  5. Cindi
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 19:50:58

    As you wish for yourself, so I also wish for you. I commend you for your Sandy relief work.

    Reply

  6. BunnyKissd
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 20:49:02

    As you wish for yourself, so too do I wish for you. Feel better.

    Reply

  7. dishonfj
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 23:25:31

    Hope you feel better soon Shirley. As you wish for yourself, so too do I wish for you.

    Reply

  8. Maggie
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 18:00:36

    Thank you so much for your help with the recovery!! Please take care of yourself!!

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Views from My World

Some of my favorite books

